Article Image
Courtesy: Toledo Athletics
Manisa Isavas (left), Head Coach Nicole Hollingsworth (center) and Sathika Ruenreong (right) each were honored on Sunday.

Rockets Place Second at MAC Championship; Nicole Hollingsworth Named Coach of Year

Courtesy: Toledo Athletics
Release: 04/27/2014
Send this article to a friend Print RSS

FISHERS, IN – Toledo posted a second-place finish at the Mid-American Conference Women’s Golf Championship for a second-straight year on Sunday at the par-72, 6,127-yard Hawthorns Golf & Country Club. The Rockets have now posted a Top Three showing each of the last three seasons and in four of the last five years.

Following the tournament, sophomores Sathika Ruenreong and Manisa Isavas were each named to the all-conference squad and Head Coach Nicole Hollingsworth received MAC Coach of the Year accolades. It is the second straight year Ruenreong has received first-team honors, and it is the first time a Rocket coach has been honored as the MAC’s best coach.

“I thought we had a great tournament which capped off a tremendous season for us,” Toledo Head Coach Nicole Hollingsworth said. “We really worked hard and improved a lot over the course of our season, and I'm excited about the bright future that we have in front of us."

Ruenreong (75-80-74) carded UT’s best round today with a two-over par 74 to tie junior Jennifer Elsholz (77-73-79) for the Rockets’ top finish in the individual standings. The duo tied for sixth place at 13-over par 229.

Junior Stephanie St-Jean tied for 11th place at 16-over par 232 (72-77-83), while Isavas tied for 14th place at 17-over par 233 (82-75-76). Senior Kate Hoops tied for 27th place in her final collegiate event with a 54-hole score of 26-over par 242 (78-84-80).

Kent State won the team title for the 16th straight year and is the only school to win the crown in event history. Three Golden Flashes finished atop the leaderboard with MAC Golfer of the Year Jennifer Ha defending her individual title with a six-over par 222 (79-69-74) to become the first three-time champion in conference history.

1. Kent State 296-299-300=895 (+31); 2. Toledo 302-305-309=916 (+52); 3. Eastern Michigan 314-302-322=938 (+74); 4. Northern Illinois 314-300-331=945 (+81); T5. Akron 313-311-329=953 (+89); T5. Western Michigan 322-314-317=953 (+89); 7. Ohio 318-309-328=955 (+91); 8. Bowling Green 330-306-323=959 (+95); 9. Ball State 318-316-328=962 (+98)

1. Jennifer Ha (KSU) 79-69-74=222 (+6); 2. Natalie Goodson (KSU) 75-74-74=223 (+7); 3. Wad Phaewchimplee (KSU) 72-77-75=224 (+8); 4. Karyn Lee Ping (EMU) 73-72-81=226 (+10); 5. Jenna Hague (BSU) 74-72-81=227 (+11)

T6. Sathika Ruenreong 75-80-74=229 (+13); T6. Jennifer Elsholz 77-73-79=229 (+13); T11. Stephanie St-Jean 72-77-83=232 (+16); T14. Manisa Isavas 82-75-76=233 (+17); T27. Kate Hoops 78-84-80=242 (+26)

All-MAC 1st Team
Jenna Hague, Ball State
Josee Doyon, Kent State
Jennifer Ha, Kent State
Wad Phaewchimplee, Kent State
Sathika Ruenreong, Toledo

All-MAC 2nd Team
Kelsey Murphy, Eastern Michigan
Natalie Goodson, Kent State
Erin Hawe, Kent State
Taylor Kim, Kent State
Manisa Isavas,  Toledo

Freshman of the Year
Wad Phaewchimplee, Kent State

Golfer of the Year
Jennifer Ha, Kent State

Sportswoman of the Year
Sarah Westaway, Ball State

Coach of the Year
Nicole Hollingsworth, Toledo

MAC All-Tournament Team
Jennifer Ha, Kent State
Natalie Goodson, Kent State
Wad Phaewchimplee, Kent State
Karyn Lee Ping, Eastern Michigan
Jenna Hague, Ball State

Article Right Col Top Ad
Article Right Col Bot Ad