Article Image
Courtesy: Toledo Athletics

Sophomore Chris Selfridge Selected to Compete at NCAA Regional in Columbus

Courtesy: Toledo Athletics
Release: 05/06/2013
Send this article to a friend Print RSS

TOLEDO, OH - University of Toledo sophomore Chris Selfridge was one of 10 individuals selected to participate in an NCAA regional hosted by The Ohio State University, the NCAA announced on Monday night.

The regional will feature 13 teams and 10 individuals and will take place on Thursday-Saturday, May 16-18 at the par-71, 7,455-yard Scarlet Course in Columbus.

Selfridge is the first Rockets’ student-athlete to compete in an NCAA event since Toledo competed as a team in the 2004 NCAA Championships.

Selfridge enters the event following a runner-up finish at the MAC Championship this past weekend. He carded a one-over par 289 to help the Rockets to a second-place showing, their best since capturing the conference title in 2004. He earned first-team All-MAC honors and closed out the year with eight straight Top 10 finishes. He currently leads the MAC with a 71.9 scoring average and is ranked No. 132 in the World Amateur Golf rankings.

Selfridge will be one of a number of representatives from the Mid-American Conference participating in the NCAA regionals, joined by MAC Champion Kent State and at-large selection Ball State as well as Akron’s Charlie Bull playing as an individual.

The top five teams and top individual not on an advancing team will move on to the NCAA Championships, which will be held at the Capital City Club’s Crabapple Course in Atlanta from Tuesday-Sunday, May 28-June 2.



1. New Mexico (Mountain West)

1. Scott Fernandez, Iowa State

2. Stanford

2. Robin Sciot Siegrist, Louisville

3. Auburn

3. Chris Selfridge, Toledo

4. South Carolina

4. Charlie Bull, Akron

5. Missouri

5. Adam Schenk, Purdue


6. Matthew Moseley, Michigan State

7. Texas Tech

7. Nathan Kerns, Marshall

8. Chattanooga (Southern)

8. Erik Van Rooyen, Minnesota

9. Georgia Southern

9. Korey Ward, Xavier

10. San Francisco

10. David Tepe, Cincinnati

11. Virginia


12. Charlotte (Atlantic 10)


13. Valparaiso (Horizon League)

Article Right Col Top Ad
Article Right Col Bot Ad