Article Image
Courtesy: Toledo Athletics
Freshman Emily Mazzola became the fifth Rocket to win the MAC's sportsmanship award.

Mazzola Wins Leann Grimes Davidge Sportsmanship Award

Courtesy: Toledo Athletics
Release: 04/25/2013
Send this article to a friend Print RSS

TOLEDO, Ohio - Toledo freshman Emily Mazzola was named the winner of this year's Leann Grimes Davidge Sportsmanship Award by the Mid-American Conference during the post-season awards announcement today. The league's head coaches voted Mazzola as the recipient of the prestigious accolade, as she became the fifth Rocket and first player under 10th-year head coach Tracy Mauntler to win the award.

The Leann Grimes Davidge Sportsmanship Award is given to the women's tennis player who has displayed outstanding sportsmanship in MAC competition. Previous Toledo winners of the award include: Lisa Donnelly (1988), Ann Harrah (1989), Eva Almkvist (1992) and Whitney Wasielewski (2002).

"I'm so proud of Emily for winning this prestigious award," Mauntler said. "It says a lot about her character and we are lucky to have her as a Rocket."

Mazzola, a native of Chagrin Falls, Ohio, finished a productive freshman campaign with the team's second highest win total in singles and doubles (10 each). She played the majority of her rookie season at No. 5 singles and finished conference play tied with a team-best ledger of 5-3. Mazzola also made the most appearances in the top doubles flight with 15.

The Midnight Blue & Gold recently completed the 2013 regular season with an overall record of 8-13 and return six letterwinners next fall. 

2013 Women’s Tennis All-MAC

Klara Supejova, Eastern Michigan
#Courtney Wild, Ball State
Angelina Jogasuria, Akron
Nelle Youel, Northern Illinois
Nimisha Mohan, Miami
&Prang Pantusart, Akron


#Nikki Chiricosta, Bowling Green
#Tanvi Shah, Buffalo
Courtney Earnest, Ball State
Nini Sujashvili, Western Michigan
Alix Thurman, Miami
#Olga Shkundina, Akron


#2012 First Team All-MAC
&2012 Second Team All-MAC 

COACH OF THE YEAR: Penny Dean, Bowling Green
FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR: Klara Supejova, Eastern Michigan
PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Klara Supejova, Eastern Michigan




Article Right Col Top Ad
Article Right Col Bot Ad