Article Image
Courtesy: Toledo Athletics
Head Coach Tod Kowalczyk has been named a finalist for the 2013 Hugh Durham award.

Coach Kowalczyk Named Finalist for Mid-Major National Coach of the Year

Courtesy: Toledo Athletics
Release: 03/13/2013
Send this article to a friend Print RSS

     TOLEDO, OH - Head Coach Tod Kowalczyk has been named a finalist for the 2013 Hugh Durham award, announced on Wednesday.

     Kowalczyk just completed his third season as the Rockets' mentor and led UT to its second-straight winning campaign as well as a first-place tie in the Mid-American Conference's West Division with a 10-6 league record. Toledo's 10 conference victories were its most since posting a 14-2 ledger en route to winning the 2006-07 MAC regular-season title.

     Under Kowalczyk's guidance, junior G Rian Pearson became Toledo's first First-Team All-MAC honoree since 2006-07 with sophomore G Julius Brown receiving Third-Team All-MAC accolades. Pearson ranked second in league scoring with 17.9 ppg, while Brown topped the MAC in conference action with 6.9 apg. Also receiving post-season recognition was freshman C Nathan Boothe, who earned a spot on the MAC's All-Freshman Team with 8.3 ppg and 5.2 rpg.

     The other finalists include Jim Baron (Canisius), Rick Byrd (Belmont), Bill Coen (Northeastern), Keith Dambrot (Akron), Kermit Davis (Middle Tennessee), Billy Donlon (Wright State), Andy Enfield (Florida Gulf Coast), Anthony Evans (Norfolk State), Chris Holtmann (Gardner-Webb), Danny Kaspar (Stephen F. Austin), Matt Matheny (Elon), Joe Mihalich (Niagara), Jim Molinari (Western Illinois), LeVelle Moton (North Carolina Central), Steve Pikiell (Stony Brook), Joe Scott (Denver), Pat Skerry (Towson), Zach Spiker (Army), Wayne Tinkle (Montana) and Michael White (Louisiana Tech).

     The Hugh Durham Award is given annually to the nation's top mid-major coach. The award is named in honor of Hugh Durham who retired at the end of the 2004-05 season. Durham is one of just 12 coaches to have led two different programs to the NCAA Final Four (Florida State in 1972 and Georgia in 1983). He is the only coach among that group to have led both schools to their lone Final Four appearance.

     The 2013 award will be presented at the awards banquet in Atlanta, site of the men's NCAA Basketball Championship.

Article Right Col Top Ad
Article Right Col Bot Ad