Article Image
Courtesy: Toledo Athletics

Pearson, Brown Named to All-MAC Squads; Boothe Earns Spot on All-Freshman Team

Courtesy: Toledo Athletics
Release: 03/11/2013
Send this article to a friend Print RSS

Toledo, OH - Junior G Rian Pearson (Raytown, MO) was named First Team All-MAC and sophomore G Julius Brown (Markham, IL) earned Third-Team All-MAC honors, as voted on by the league's 12 men's basketball coaches. In addition, freshman C Nathan Boothe (Gurnee, IL) was named to the MAC's All-Freshman Team.

     Pearson, who received second-team all-league honors a year ago, is the first Rocket to earn first-team accolades since Justin Ingram in the 2006-07 campaign. He ranks second in the conference in scoring (17.9 ppg), fifth in steals (1.7 spg) and eighth in rebounds (6.8 rpg). Pearson concluded the season with a career-high 14-game streak of scoring in double figures and led UT in rebounding and scoring on a team-high 15 and 13 occasions, respectively. He also became the 41st Rocket to score 1,000 career points and has 1,091 points in two seasons (17.0 ppg) to rank 37th all-time.

     The 2011-12 MAC Freshman of the Year, Brown followed up a stellar rookie campaign with an even more impressive second season. Brown, who paced the conference in league play with 6.9 assists and a sparkling 2.9 assist turnover ratio, ranks second in the MAC in assists (6.0 apg), fifth in assist/turnover ratio (1.9) and 10th in scoring (13.1 ppg). The first Rocket to average five or more assists per game since Keith Wade tallied 6.0 apg in 1990-91, Brown capped off his season on Saturday with his fourth career double-double. He tallied 19 points, a career-high 12 assists and three steals in a 78-67 triumph at Eastern Michigan to help UT tie Western Michigan for first place in the West Division.

     Boothe is the 12th Rocket to receive All-Freshman laurels and gives UT a MAC All-Freshman Team member for a second straight year. A starter in all 28 games, Boothe averaged 8.3 ppg and ranked second on the team with 5.2 rpg. Boothe is also sixth in the conference with a team-high 1.5 bpg with his 42 rejections ranking fourth in school history.

     Toledo completed its 2012-13 campaign with a 15-13 win-loss mark for its second-straight winning season. The Rockets also posted a 10-6 league ledger for their most conference victories since posting a 14-2 record en route to winning the 2006-07 MAC regular-season title.

All-MAC First Team
Rian Pearson, Toledo
Zeke Marshall, Akron
Javon McCrea, Buffalo
Chris Evans, Kent State
D.J. Cooper, Ohio

All-MAC Second Team
Demetrius Treadwell, Akron
Jauwan Scaife, Ball State
Austin Calhoun, Bowling Green
Kyle Randall, Central Michigan
Shayne Whittington, Western Michigan

All-MAC Third Team
Julius Brown, Toledo
Majok Majok, Ball State
Randal Holt, Kent State
Reggie Keely, Ohio
Walter Offutt, Ohio

Honorable Mention
Alex Abreu, Akron
Jordon Crawford, Bowling Green
Glenn Bryant, Eastern Michigan
Will Felder, Miami
Nate Hutcheson, Western Michigan

MAC All-Freshman Team
Nathan Boothe, Toledo
Jake Kretzer, Akron
Jarryn Skeete, Buffalo
Chris Fowler, Central Michigan
Darius Paul, Western Michigan

Article Right Col Top Ad
Article Right Col Bot Ad