Mike VanDerMeulen One of Three Finalists for FCA Bobby Bowden Award

Courtesy: Toledo Athletics
Release: 12/19/2011
Send this article to a friend Print RSS
Article Image
Courtesy: Scott Grau
Mike VAnDerMeulen is a two-time All-MAC selection.

Toledo senior offensive lineman Mike VanDerMeulen (Marshall, MI) is one of three finalists for the Ninth Annual Bobby Bowden Award, the Fellowship of Christian Athletes announced today. The other two finalists are center Ben Jones of Georgia and quarterback Case Keenum of Houston.

The Bobby Bowden award recognizes the Division FBS player who epitomizes a student-athlete. He must conduct himself as a faith model in the community, on campus, in the classroom and on the field.  Nominees must have a 3.0 GPA or better. The award is named after former Florida State University football coach Bobby Bowden.

VanDerMeulen is a first-team All-MAC selection who carries a 3.385 GPA in human resource management. He has started 49 straight games at left tackle for UT, which ranks eighth in the nation in total offense.

The 2011 Bobby Bowden Award winner will be announced at the FCA Allstate Bowl Championship Series breakfast in New Orleans on January 6, 2012.

Bobby Bowden Award Past Winners
2003 - Jason Wright, Northwestern University
2004 - Billy Bajema, Oklahoma State University
2005 - D. J. Shockley, University of Georgia
2006 - Carl Pendleton, University of Oklahoma
2007 - Jacob Tamme, University of Kentucky
2008 - Stephen McGee, Texas A&M
2009 - Colt McCoy, University of Texas
2010 - Christian Ponder, Florida State University

UTRockets.com  - Your Source for Rocket Sports
Like Toledo Rockets  on Facebook!
Follow the Rockets on Twitter @UTRocketsDotCom

Article Right Col Top Ad
Article Right Col Bot Ad