Rockets to Play Home-and-Home Series vs. Miami Hurricanes in 2015 and 2016

Courtesy: Toledo Athletics
Release: 07/26/2010
Send this article to a friend Print RSS
Article Image
Courtesy: Toledo Athletics
The Glass Bowl will host the Miami Hurricanes in 2015.

TOLEDO, OH - The University of Toledo will play the University of Miami in a home-and-home football series beginning in 2015, UT Athletic Director Mike O'Brien announced today. The Rockets will host the Hurricanes on Sept. 5, 2015 and travel to Sun Life Stadium in Miami Gardens, FL on Sept. 3, 2016.

"We are very pleased to be adding the University of Miami to our home football schedule," said O'Brien. "The Hurricanes have a great tradition, so this is a very special game for our program. We have played great games in Toledo against many fine football programs in the past, but Miami is arguably the highest-profile opponent ever to play in the Glass Bowl. We are also looking forward to visiting Miami in 2016. That will be a great trip for our football team and our fans."

"I'm excited that we are adding the Miami Hurricanes to our schedule," added head coach Tim Beckman. "This will be a great series for our future Rockets and fans to look forward to."

The Rockets and the Hurricanes have played once before, a 24-14 home-field victory for Miami on Nov. 21, 1987. Miami was ranked No. 3 in the nation at the time in both the AP and UPI polls, and went on to win the national championship that season thanks to a 20-14 win over then-No. 1 Oklahoma in the Orange Bowl. The Hurricanes have won five national titles, in 1983, 1987, 1989, 1991 and 2001.

Miami, which plays in the Atlantic Coast Conference, finished 9-4 (5-3 in the ACC) in 2009.

The Miami game is the latest addition to a challenging and exciting Rocket non-conference home schedule in upcoming years. This fall the Rockets host Arizona and Wyoming; in future years Boise State (2011), Navy (2013), Missouri (2014) and Iowa State (2015) will all visit the Glass Bowl. Previously, the Rockets have hosted schools such as Colorado, Purdue, Minnesota, Kansas, Iowa State, Pittsburgh, Navy, Syracuse, Fresno State and Indiana.


Sept. 10 - at Ohio State
Sept. 17 - BOISE STATE
Sept. 24 - at Syracuse

Sept. 1 - at Arizona
Sept. 8 - at Wyoming

Aug. 31 - at Florida
Sept. 7 - at Missouri
Oct. 19 - NAVY

Sept. 6 - MISSOURI
Sept. 20 - at Iowa State

Sept. 5 - MIAMI (FL)
Sept. 19 - IOWA STATE
Oct. 17 - at Navy

Sept. 3 - at Miami (FL)

As of July 26, 2010


Article Right Col Top Ad
Article Right Col Bot Ad