Uploaded Ad

University of Toledo Sports Medicine

Courtesy: Toledo Athletics
Release: 06/10/2009
Send this article to a friend Print RSS
RELATED LINKS

University of Toledo Sports Medicine

STUDENT-ATHLETE FORMS   SPORTS MEDICINE POLICIES   STAFF

Scott Park Athletic Training Room

Larimer Athletic Training Room

 Larimer Cold Plunge Pool

       The primary goal of the Rocket Sports Medicine Department is to provide the best quality care to each and every student-athlete.  The staff is trained to provide quick, accurate evaluations and expertise with the aid of excellent facilities and resources. Injured student-athletes return to participation only when they are able to function on the field of play. The ability to function on the court, field or in the pool comes after thorough treatment and rehabilitation. Jennifer Miller serves as the staff physical therapist for Rocket Athletics, and her expertise strengthens the overall goal of returning our student-athletes to competition as safely and quickly as possible. 
       With the help of recent improvements in both the Savage and Larimer Athletic Training rooms, the Sports Medicine staff utilizes a variety of equipment and resources to hand-tailor a plan of care for each unique injury and student-athlete.  The equipment attempts to simulate the same type of stress that is encountered while participating in a sport. Athletic trainers work to create an environment which is safe and yet conducive to the return of student-athletes to competition.
      The athletic training staff consists of five full-time certified athletic trainers and six  certified graduate assistant athletic trainers: Assistant Athletic Director for Sports Medicine Brian Jones; Associate Head Athletic Trainer Gretchen Buskirk; Associate Athletic Trainer/Head Football Athletic Trainer John Walters and Assistant Athletic Trainer Kelly Stobba.&nbsp. Graduate Assistant Athletic Trainers Brianna Camp (Volleyball), Larry Cattell (Softball), Kyle Patrick (Football & Men's Tennis), Danielle Torp (Track and Cross Country), Rachel Wright (Swimming & Diving), Mike Uzelac (Cross Country) and Patrick Yurkanin (Baseball) complete the staff.  The Athletic Training staff is also aided by 35-40 Athletic Training students who work to earn a Bachelors Degree in Athletic Training while receiving daily hands-on learning and experience.     
      Dr. Roger Kruse serves as the University of Toledo Head Team Physician.  Dr.  Kruse is also a drug-crew chief on the U.S. Olympic Committee and served on the medical team at the 1994 Winter Olympics in Lillihammer, Norway, and the 1996 Summer Olympics in Atlanta.  Dr. Kruse is aided by a team of three Sports Medicine Fellows that help to cover the wide-range of student-athletes.
The University of Toledo is also very fortunate to have Dr. Steven Saddemi, Dr. Anthony Frogameni, Dr. Paul Fenton, Dr. Jason Levine and Dr. David Sohn as their orthopedic consultants.
      As a result of the merger of the University of Toledo and the Medical College of Ohio in 2006, the University Medical Center has become very involved in providing health care services to all University of Toledo student-athletes.  Experts from all areas of medicine are readily available to provide University quality health care to all of our student-athletes.

     Click here to view the University of Toledo Sports Medicine Principles.


     

 Savage Arena Rehabilition and Treatment Pools

Savage Arena Athletic Training Room

Savage Arena Athletic Training Room

 

Student-Athlete Forms (PDF Format)

New/Transfer Student-Athletes

1. Medical History Form
2. Insurance Form
3. Policy & Procedures
4. Drug Testing

Returning Student-Athletes

1. Policy & Procedures
2. Insurance Form
3. Drug Testing

Sports Medicine Policies

Drug Testing

Sickle Cell

Concussion

 

University of Toledo Rockets Athletic Training Staff

    

 Name Email Address  Phone Number
Asst. AD for Sports Medicine: Brian Jones (Men's Basketball) brian.jones@utoledo.edu  419-530-7758
Associate Head Athletic Trainer: Gretchen Buskirk (Soccer)
gretchen.buskirk@utoledo.edu  419-530-4333
Associate Athletic Trainer: John Walters (Football) john.walters2@utoledo.edu  419-530-3512
Associate Athletic Trainer: Brad Pierson (Women's Basketball) bradley.pierson@utoledo.edu  419-530-7915
Asspciate Athletic Trainer: Kelly Stobba (Football) kelly.stobba@utoledo.edu  419-530-4296
Graduate Assistant Athletic Trainer: Brianna Camp (Volleyball & Cheerleading) brianna.camp@rockets.utoledo.edu 419-530-4303
Graduate Assistant Athletic Trainer: Larry Cattell (Softball) larry.cattell@rockets.utoledo.edu 419-530-4303
Graduate Assistant Athletic Trainer: Kyle Patrick (Football/Men's Tennis) kyle.patrick2@rockets.utoledo.edu 419-530-4296
Graduate Assistant Athletic Trainer: Danielle Torp (Cross Country, Track) danielle.torp@rockets.utoledo.edu 419-530-4303
Graduate Assistant Athletic Trainer: Rachel Wright (Swimming & Diving) rachel.wright@rockets.utoledo.edu 419-530-4303
Graduate Assistant Athletic Trainer: Mike Uzelac (Cross Country) michael.uzelac@rockets.utoledo.edu  419-530-4303
Graduate Assistant Athletic Trainer: Will Yungtum (Football/Women's Tennis) william.yungtum@rockets.utoledo.edu 419-530-4296
Graduate Assistant Athletic Trainer: Patrick Yurkanin (Baseball) patrick.yurkanin@rockets.utoledo.edu 419-530-4303
Insurance Coordinator/Administrative Assistant: Michelle Harris michelle.harris2@rockets.utoledo.edu 419-530-4303
Physical Therapist: Jennifer Miller (M/W Golf) jennifer.miller@rockets.utoledo.edu 419-530-7915

 
Helpful Links

 













 

Article Right Col Top Ad
Article Right Col Bot Ad
advertisement
advertisement
stop